Born in Rome, Italy in 1945 to German parents, Johannes attended
Deutsche Schule Rom (the German School of Rome). Later, Johannes had
an internship in Germany with the electronics manufacturer SABA and
studied industrial design at Folkwangschule di Essen. Since 1987 he's lived
in Tuscania (Tuscany), Italy. Johannes is a self-taught musician using
only instruments and sound sculptures that he designed and built. Sounds
from nature are also utilized in the making of some of his music.

For the first time ever, the work of this little known reclusive artist is
being released to the world on CD. Johannes was first brought to public
attention in the USA with an interview published by ND magazine in 1999.
Before then, his work was mostly known by a close circle of friends and
students in Italy and Germany. That being the case, the ND interview was
a bit of an anomaly, especially since he didn't really have a release to his
credit apart from a very rare self-published cassette which was not even
mentioned in the article. After the interview was published, no other
release of his work has surfaced until now.

Sometime around 2007 or 2008,
Michael Northam sent and/OAR a DVDR
of Johannes' music along with photographs of his home, studio,
instruments, sculptures and paintings. Michael had originally planned to
publish a CD of Johannes' work via the Soundmirror label in Switzerland,
but the label ceased operations before that took place. It would take
another six years before the DVDR containing Johannes' work would be
re-discovered in a pile of other discs, and plans were finally made to
release the work.

The tracks on this CD were recorded between 2005 and 2006, yet the
music seems to have surfaced from another time - completely isolated
from influences of the current era. Dimpflmeier also seems to be an
"assistant" to the unique and arcane instruments that he helped manifest.
As he has stated, his instruments seem to be "autonomous - their own
masters"... However, that is not to say that it doesn't require a form of
mastery to successfully "collaborate" with such strange instruments (with
names like "Erede", "Onkel Kranius", "Bicordo Meditar", "Rotellie",
"Incubophon", etc.

For those in need of references to compare this otherwise idiosyncratic
artist's music with, it can be said that those who enjoy so-called
"koschmische musik", BBC Radiophonic Workshop or Laurie Spiegel,
would also find this music fascinating as well.

Track List:
01. Schlendriano
02. Scala Ouspenskij*
03. Spiraglio
04. Spaeter
05. Salterello
06. Eistoene
07. Oder In China
08. I Grill Concert
09. II Grillo Viola
10. III Grill Concert
11. Kleinere Geschichte
12. Tangon

*Based on music theory by G. Gurdjieff.
catalog number: either/11
title: untitled
format: CD